Charged with Ecstasy in Denver?
Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA), also known as Ecstasy or Molly, is another schedule 1 substance that is illegal on both state and federal levels. This highly addictive stimulant has a slew of unfavorable biological side effects and comes with equally unfortunate criminal charges if you’re caught possessing or selling this narcotic.
In the state of Colorado specifically, possession of any amount will automatically warrant a felony drug charge that ranges from Class 6 to Class 4. Getting caught with more than four grams will increase the charges to a Class 4 which includes higher fines and longer incarceration periods. Worst case scenario, a general possession charge of less than 4 grams of MDMA will result in no more than 2 years prison time and a fine up to $100,000. The best possible outcome would include the option to participate in an approved rehabilitation program rather than spending time behind bars with the minimum fine of $1,000. Usually the minimum sentence only occurs for first-time offenders or those that have enlisted the assistance of a qualified defense attorney.
In the event of a Class 4 felony charge for possessing more than 4 grams of ecstasy the most severe punishment would include 6 years of jail time and a fine up to $500,000.
Colorado is a state that has recognized how beneficial alternative rehab programs can be, but they also do not put up with excessive repeat offenders. In fact, multiple arrests associated with possession of schedule 1 drugs can significantly lengthen jail sentences as well as maximize the associated fines.
Contact a Denver Drug Crimes Attorney
If you are facing MDMA possession charges, be sure to take advantage of the Colorado drug court’s option for rehab – not only will this alternative prove to be a much more bearable sentence, but the program itself will address, treat, and possibly prevent future problems with narcotic addiction.
As soon as you are arrested for possession of MDMA, it is critical to contact a Denver drug possession attorney. Stanley Marks offers free initial consultations, both over the phone and in person. Call him today at (720) 580-6788.