Charged with Marijuana Possession in Denver?
In 2012, Colorado became the second state in the nation to legalize recreational use of marijuana. In order to stay within the legal limits of possession, adults must be over the age of 21 and are not allowed to carry more than 1 ounce (27 grams) at a time. Certain Colorado businesses and educational institutions are allowed to determine their own regulations concerning onsite marijuana possession.
While marijuana possession is legal, it is still considered unlawful to openly consume marijuana in public areas. Similar to the fact that folks cannot walk around with open containers of alcohol, marijuana use is expected to take place in private. For individuals who are not native residents of Colorado, stores are limited to selling 7 grams per transaction, but non-natives can legally possess up to 1 ounce, just like everyone else at a given time. Petty Class 2 misdemeanor charges may be given in the event of possessions greater than 1 ounce, but less than 2 ounces or in the event of public use however, the maximum penalty is only $100 and/or up to 15 days in jail.
In the event that someone is caught in possession of up to 6 ounces of marijuana, they could be charged with the maximum penalties associated with a Class 2 misdemeanor: up to 1 year of jail time and a fine between $250 and $1,000.
Marijuana possession greater than 12 ounces might constitute a Class 1 misdemeanor charge which would result in no more than 18 months of jail time and a fine less than $5,000.
Felony marijuana charges are typically associated with possessions greater than 1 pound or possession within a detention facility. In the state of Colorado, repeat offenders are usually the most likely to be penalized for this behavior.
Illegal, large scale operation – possession greater than 100 pounds – is considered a Class 3 felony and may be subject to fines up to $750,000, as well as jail time of up to 12 years.
Contact a Denver Drug Crimes Attorney
If you are charged with possession of marijuana, contact a Denver drug possession attorney. Stanley Marks offers free initial consultations, either over the phone or in person. Contact him today at (720) 580-6788.