Email Us!
CALL NOW 720-580-6788 720-580-6788
En Español 720-253-0344 720-253-0344
Se Habla Español

Intent to Distribute Methamphetamine in Colorado

Intent to Distribute Methamphetamine in Colorado

Distributing Meth in Denver

Although the extent of meth possession charges in Colorado are subjective and depend heavily on the circumstances surrounding the arrest, larger amounts themselves have a tendency to produce additional charges of intent to distribute. In the state of Colorado, possession of 5 or more grams of meth includes a 5 year minimum of jail time and 50 grams will double that minimum sentence to 10 years.

In addition to a large volume of meth, intent can be determined by the presence of distribution accessories like bags or scales. Significant sums of money can also be indicative of distribution activity. Possession of methamphetamine with intent to distribute usually warrants a felony charge from one of 3 different classes: 5, 4, or 3. A judge will determine the exact class based on a variety of factors including total amounts, possession of paraphernalia, where the arrest took place, and whether or not the defendant has any prior drug convictions. Depending on the felony Class assigned, the sentence could range from 1-12 years of incarceration and/or a fine of up to $750,000.

Aside from jail time and fines, this type of criminal drug charge can have a very unfavorable outcome for one’s future prosperity. Landing a good job or qualifying for a major purchase might be hindered with a significant felony charge on your record. Certain industries and educational institutions have strict restrictions concerning people with felonies – especially drug charges that are considered with intent to distribute.

Contact a Denver Drug Crimes Attorney

Like many other states that have realized how incarceration does little to treat serious drug addictions, Colorado has opened the doors to alternative drug treatment programs that might take the place of jail time for offenders that do not have a significant history of drug charges. An experienced Denver drug defense attorney will be your best bet at landing the least serious sentence with the smallest fines.

Attorney offers free initial consultations, either over the phone or in person. Call him today at (720) 580-7688.