Charged with Marijuana Possession in Denver
Although possession of up to 1 ounce of marijuana is considered legal within the state of Colorado, individuals who attempt to transport this drug outside of state lines may be faced with severe criminal charges that are ultimately decided by the state in which they are caught. Because neighboring states have not legalized any possession of marijuana, law enforcement has become very strict on the possession of this substance outside of Colorado’s borders. Nebraska determines possessions less than one pound to be misdemeanor offenses while anything greater than 1 pound will warrant a felony charge. Oklahoma’s laws concerning marijuana possession are much more intense with any repeat offenses, regardless of amount, being considered a felony violation.
If found before crossing state lines, Colorado still has strict laws regulating the possession of amounts greater than an ounce. In fact, in certain situations, large scale transport of more than 100 pounds may warrant Class 3 felony charges that are punishable with up to 12 years of jail time and extensive fines of up to $750,000. Volumes of 12 ounces or less, but still greater than the legal 1 ounce, will be grounds for either a Class 1 or 2 misdemeanor charge. At most, this would mean a fine of $5,000 and/or jail time up to 18 months. Typically, the maximum sentence only applies to repeat offenders or extenuating circumstances that involve minors or possession in close proximity to a school or federally operated institution.
A Colorado sentencing that includes jail time or fines will ultimately depend on the total amount of marijuana that was found as well as additional factors like prior drug related convictions.
Contact a Denver Drug Crime Attorney
If you are a repeat offender or have been charged with possession of a large volume of marijuana, an experienced Denver drug crime defense attorney may be able to help leverage the outcome in your favor. With vast knowledge and expertise about the state laws concerning marijuana possession, a professional lawyer is the best chance for a favorable outcome. Call Stanley Marks today at (720) 580-6788.